June 6, 2023


Complete News World

Jon Fosse

Jon Fosse won the Brage Award for novel – NRK Kultur og underholding

A New Name is the last book in a seven-volume series, Septology. According to the jury that awarded the prize to John Foss, the book is a solid result of a towering work of fiction.

«The text advances with few words, repetition, and constant change in time and place, without a single sentence. It may sometimes be a requirement of the reader, because the author asks to attend.”

NRK reporter Knut Hoem refers to the book as one «Fun puzzle game».

The longest stable relationship

The award winner himself came up with words of encouragement to his colleagues who have not yet received the award.

– He mentioned that it has been 30 years since his first submission and the fact that I was nominated 30 years ago. There have been a number of filter dishes since then, but it took a while before I got it. It can be a consolation for everyone who was nominated and did not receive the award. Wait, and you’ll get it!

This isn’t the first time author, poet and playwright John Foss has received the Brage Award. In 2005, the award-winning Fosse Brage received her honorary award. For several years, he was also one of the Norwegian hottest candidates to be nominated for the Nobel Prize in Literature.

– First of all, I would like to thank my editor, Cecile Sissis, who helped me in many ways. And then I’d like to thank my publisher, Samlaget, who has persevered with me since about 1980. It’s the longest lasting relationship I’ve had in adulthood. Many thanks and Samlaget.

See also  Billy Bush: - He made a sexist joke about it

Fosse grew up in Strandebarm in Hardanger and later moved to Bergen where he made his debut in 1983 with the novel “Raudt, svart”. Today he lives in the honorary residence Grotten, which is located in Slottsparken in the capital.

Some of his books have been translated into more than forty languages, but his banter also works well abroad. After Henrik Ibsen, he is the most played Norwegian comedian.

Lev Koltzow received the Brage Award, his honorary award, for his writing.

Photo: Heiko Junge / NTB

More prices

Today, a total of five Brage Awards have been awarded at Dansens hus.

A generous honorary award is Lev Koltzoff who can adorn herself. During her long career, she has written short stories, novels, dramas and articles. The common theme in her writing is time and awareness. The jury describes her as strong-willed and stubborn:

Book after book demonstrated linguistic awareness and psychological insight. The authorship represents distinguished contributions to Norwegian literature, and occupies a clear place in the history of Norwegian literature.”

In the non-fiction book category, Lena Lindgren won her first book, Echo. Essay on Algorithms on Desire.

Mariangela de Fiori and Catherine Tronce Lee received the award in the open chapter for My Story After Utoya. The film revolves around Katherine Tronis Lee, who lost her sister when they were camping together in Utoya.

Another Look by Erlind Sketten has reached the top among children’s and young adults’ books.